Gmail Chat Disabled

16 Mar

Gmail Chat disabled on the Network The fact that it happened does not surprise me but that it took so long for our network administrators to figure it out does.

And if you are wondering how do you disable Gmail’s chat features on your network, you only need locking DNS lookups to chatenabled.mail.google.com, by returning 127.0.0.1.

27 Responses to “Gmail Chat Disabled”

  1. Anonymous March 18, 2006 at 11:39 am #

    it was disabled did not surprise me much but the fact that it has been enabled again surprises me more.

  2. Matt Miller March 21, 2006 at 9:45 pm #

    I don’t think it was disabled. I got the same message on the same day, and I *AM* my system administrator. Unless I have a split personality and disabled it behind my own back, the message was a bug.

    What I find interesting is hte method for disabling chat you mention. If this is indeed true, then all a savvy user should need to do to re-enable chat would be to find an IP for chatenabled.mail.google.com and stick it in their hosts.txt file… right?

  3. enginerd March 23, 2006 at 5:43 pm #

    Matt, I talked to our campus’s Network Administrator today and he said he hadn’t done anything to “block” chat in Gmail. So it could’ve only been due to a bug.

    And yes, I think the hosts file should do the trick as long as the IP isn’t blocked too.

  4. Anonymous April 13, 2006 at 4:20 am #

    Can you guys be more specific in how to counteract this method of disabling Gmail chat. Like a step by step on how to “find an IP for chatenabled.mail.google.com and stick it in their host.txt file”. I believe my network administrator actually did disable the chat. Would be very much appreciated!

  5. enginerd April 13, 2006 at 7:23 pm #

    Anon,
    If you’re behind a proxy, the hosts file won’t be of help. So I guess, you can’t really counteract this administrators blocking chat in Gmail.

  6. Anonymous April 13, 2006 at 7:30 pm #

    I couldn’t find the hosts.txt file you guys were talking about, so I had my suspicions I was still going to be out of luck. Thanks for the crushed hope. 🙂 Although, if you do come across any other fix, please post. Thx.

  7. Social Democracy Now May 4, 2006 at 3:04 pm #

    I don’t understand how my Gmail got to be ‘chat enabled.’ I never set it to be. Problem is someone is using it to obstruct my emails. Everytime I try to attach something to an email it says ‘chatenabled.mail.google.com’ in the bar on the bottom of the screen. Then I can no longer do anything at all.

    Does anybody know what’s happening and how I can disable ‘chat’ (whatever that really means)? I’m not knowledgeable about computers, so I’d need very clear and simple instructions.

    Thanks to anyone who can help.

  8. lalala June 29, 2006 at 12:12 am #

    It works here, Gmail Chat is unblocked

    Tx Anonymous 4:20 😀

  9. vickylynn January 21, 2008 at 12:00 am #

    Hey what up all my chat room is blocked i tried to unblocked i just don’t know how ugh

  10. Chandru August 12, 2008 at 6:55 pm #

    Hi,

    The chat in gmail is blocked by my network administrators, can anyone help me out with steps to unblock the chat in gmail? your help is appreciated. Thanks

  11. introuble October 18, 2008 at 2:39 pm #

    Yeah my parents were mad at me so i cant chat. Admin (parents) disabled it!
    you guys got anything to fix the problem. if you do it would make a great difference.

    Thanks

  12. adorbapaphy October 25, 2008 at 10:17 pm #

    lesbian sex video free fuck video big toy

  13. help me January 17, 2009 at 6:39 am #

    alright so my brother decided to be a butt, and block gmail chat. does anyone know how i can unblock it?

  14. help me January 17, 2009 at 6:40 am #

    alright so my brother decided to be a butt, and block gmail chat. does anyone know how i can unblock it?
    help!

  15. Sami February 20, 2009 at 12:09 am #

    Sorry !, but frankly am working for a company and i need to know how to ((( unblock ))) the gmail chat cuz i cant access my friends through the page itself or through the Gtalk …

    please advise ASAP

    Best reagards, and many thanks for Quick reply

  16. Alexwebmaster March 3, 2009 at 1:34 pm #

    Hello webmaster
    I would like to share with you a link to your site
    write me here preonrelt@mail.ru

  17. Vishal May 4, 2009 at 8:49 am #

    If i want want enable my chat in google talk,what are the steps which can help to enable my chat!wating for prompt reply!!

  18. Name3938410 June 25, 2009 at 3:31 am #

    i have the SAME EXACT PROBLEM except i think my parents are using the internet to bolck it becuase im the administrator and i think they did ssomething… anyone with some help would be VERY APPRECIATED!!! PLEASE HELP… THANK YOU IN ADVANCE!!

  19. Janvi March 4, 2010 at 10:08 am #

    Hi,

    The chat in gmail is blocked by my network administrators, can anyone help me out with steps to unblock the chat in gmail?
    pls give the solution how can ma id can get chat avilable

  20. iramkhan April 2, 2010 at 6:05 pm #

    why was my chat disabled

  21. Mikie D April 18, 2010 at 5:54 pm #

    THE SOLUTION FOR THIS PROBLEM IS……………………….

    1)OPEN FIREFOX

    2)PASTE THIS LINK IN YOUR ADDRESS BAR –https://chatenabled.mail.google.com

    3)IN THE DIALOG BOX NEXT APPEARS SELECT ADD EXCEPTION OR “I UNDERSTAND THE RISK”OR ANYTHING THAT FAVOURS INSTALLATION OF THE GIVEN LINK.

    4)RESTART FIREFOX AND OPEN GMAIL AND FIND IT SOLVED OR NOT

    • raghu July 10, 2010 at 7:42 am #

      superb dude thanks a lot…
      may i know what do u do?

    • kumaran March 9, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

      Thank u so much, really it works…:-)

  22. Hugo8a August 30, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

    Hello! Try this:
    I had the same problem today and, strangelly, MSN messenger gave me the clue to fix it. You should verify if the date and hour in your computer are correct. Once I fixed it, both messenger and Gtalk started working.

    Good Luck with this. I hope this helps!

  23. kumara Raja K January 24, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    I have tried the below steps still not able to unblock the chat in gmail.

    1)OPEN FIREFOX

    2)PASTE THIS LINK IN YOUR ADDRESS BAR –https://chatenabled.mail.google.com

    3)IN THE DIALOG BOX NEXT APPEARS SELECT ADD EXCEPTION OR “I UNDERSTAND THE RISK”OR ANYTHING THAT FAVOURS INSTALLATION OF THE GIVEN LINK.

    4)RESTART FIREFOX AND OPEN GMAIL AND FIND IT SOLVED OR NOT

    The Error i am getting is …

    Unable to connect

    Firefox can’t establish a connection to the server at chatenabled.mail.google.com.

    * The site could be temporarily unavailable or too busy. Try again in a few
    moments.

    * If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer’s network
    connection.

    * If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure
    that Firefox is permitted to access the Web.

    Can any one please help to solve this issue…

  24. book of ra online spielen echtgeld May 11, 2013 at 4:06 pm #

    Whats up very cool blog!! Man .. Excellent .. Wonderful
    .. I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds also?
    I’m glad to seek out a lot of useful information here in the submit, we want develop more strategies in this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

  25. acrylic make up organizer July 15, 2013 at 10:31 pm #

    wonderful issues altogether, you just won a emblem new
    reader. What may you recommend in regards to your publish that you just made a few
    days in the past? Any sure?

Leave a Reply

